Fish in a Barrel

January 12, 2010

I think it’s safe to say that in today’s environment almost everyone is frantically shucking oysters in search of that pearl – me included.  In that vein I attended the Triangle Business Advisors’ Round Table this past Friday.  I took note of this event on LinkedIn via one of my connections – an individual who happens to also be a business owner.  There were several professionals attending that I did not know and the topic – “Defining Your Target Market” interested me. In the world of ‘too many ways to spend your time’ I figured this one gave me extra bang for the buck – fresh meat and the potential to learn something, maybe.  Oh, and it was buck-less.

Trifecta!

The experience was well worth the investment.  While I didn’t necessarily gain academically from the discussion on target market, I did experience a brilliant implementation of pond stocking.  The discussion took place in the offices of one of the attendees – who rented or donated the crowded conference room – not sure which. 

When Bill Davis declared that his target market was limited to a five mile radius of his office space it was all I could do not to guffaw loudly and retort – “Don’t you mean a five foot radius?”  Whether we drove 5 or 50 miles that morning to attend the round table didn’t matter.  We were sitting on his home turf, literally feet away from his solution to our pain. 

Open Season.

Now the question is does he have the right bait? 

Bill has his version of the multi-billion dollar Subway $5 Foot-long campaign and it resonates with the hungry, self-selected, crowd.  Bill, and I know only after a five minute conversation with him that it was no accident, cleverly filled his conference room with HIS TARGET MARKET – individual consultants or owners of small business ALL looking to survive in the short-term and thrive…..eventually. 

I have been reminded recently by my readers that we who put a stake in the ground when we brand ourselves are not brave – but and I paraphrase ‘stupid’.  We just don’t know better – we don’t know or won’t admit that less than 20% of us will see the five year mark.  Here we were – a room full of ‘the stupids’ ready to hear Bill’s promise of 100 Days to Abundance(For $1 Day’)

While you can’t share it with a Coke and conversation over lunch it’s a pretty juicy worm ‘more product for less dollar’ value proposition.  One that is clearly ‘catching on’ because there were several of his clients present at the round table.  Not to be too cynical – but they would serve him better by staying out of the water – or he will need to dig out a bigger pond. 

Hook your latest MarketingSmack snack on: www.marketingsmack.wordpress.com or visit us at www.summitstrategypartners.com.

Caveat Emptor: I have not participated in Bill’s program and cannot attest to the content, quality or results.

4 Responses to “Fish in a Barrel”

  1. Jerry Helms Says:

    Quote from article:

    “While you can’t share it with a Coke and conversation over lunch it’s a pretty juicy worm ‘more product for less dollar’ value proposition. One that is clearly ‘catching on’ because there were several of his clients present at the round table. Not to be too cynical – but they would serve him better by staying out of the water – or he will need to dig out a bigger pond. ”

    I have attended Bill’s 100 Days program and found it very valuable. So, that makes me a client. I’m pretty sure that part of Bill’s pond stocking strategy is to help me as a client make connections to other possible networking associates. The value proposition that he creates by keeping the pond stocked and allowing others to fish in it is what keeps me coming back!

    Jerry Helms
    Non Stop Portals
    http://www.nonstopportals.com


    • Jerry,
      I do get the impression that Bill is good at keeping the pond stocked and growing it. I was using a little poetic license in my blog writing – have to keep things a little interesting.
      Thanks for be a reader!
      Best to you – and hope to see you at the next one.

  2. Dan Scala Says:

    Hi Jack, Really enjoyed reading your post….I too attended the event. I found your comment right on about not getting anything earth shattering in the way of answers ( with all the high powered professionals in the room- you would think we could get to closure)
    however I walked out like you knowing I got my money’s (time) worth!
    I was there for 3 reasons:
    1) Bill Davis has probably the best street level (no-nonsense) programs in town,so anything he does ….I’m in
    2) Mark Brown is a …member of our 100 day team and our teams try to support each other(Buy local and all that good stuff) and
    3) I saw Jim Joyce was attending (on my top 10 people I want to meet list) and I got to meet him and have a follow up coffee meet
    and I even got a bonus
    ( I sat behind you and got several good ideas from your contributions)….sooooo…Keepon …Keepin on! …Dan


    • Dan,
      Thanks for your thoughts on the event. Yes, there were many take-aways that may not have had to do with academic learning. I got so much out of it that I am not only attending the next one – I will also be on the panel.
      See you soon.


Leave a Reply

